The prodigal prophet

I have long been fascinated with the prophet Jonah, and seen many resonances between his call to Nineveh and ministry today in the inner-city. Jonah 3:3 describes Nineveh as, literally, an important city to God although most translations use the phrase “a very great city”. And to me this verse has always been a reminder that my ministry is not to pray for God to become Lord over the area in which I minister, but for the people I meet to recognise that God is already Lord over them.

But who exactly is the Lord that I should serve Him? And what exactly should be my calling to the city? This excellent work by Tim Keller answers those questions in a thoughtful and practical exposition that has certainly deepened my appreciation of the work. He sees the book as a revelation of God’s grace first and foremost to Jonah himself, and for God’s strange work in Jonah’s life as the means of Jonah learning to understand that grace more deeply for himself. He also examines how the sailors in chapter 1 have a greater understanding of God than Jonah himself, and probes how exactly the people of Nineveh responded to Jonah’s message in chapter 3. As Jonah sees the people of Nineveh turn away from their evil ways, so his own idols are exposed and challenged, leading to the final confrontation between God and Jonah in chapter 4 which Tim Keller sees as the climax of the book.

All the way through Tim Keller relates this book of the Bible to pastoral experience today, and he includes a final chapter outlining the practical application, as he exhorts us to consider the relationship between grace, mission and justice. There is so much wisdom from this experienced minister who is passionate about reaching the city with the gospel, and he has certainly made me consider my calling in a new light. So much of this book is quotable, but it is these words on pages 92-93 that will stick me for a long time:

We seldom see ministries that are equally committed to preaching the Word fearlessly and to justice and care for the poor, yet these are theologically inseparable.

In my own small way that has been my commitment over the past seventeen years, and it is good to have a book that affirms the essential link between ministry of word and service in the world. That is why I would unhesitatingly recommend this book to anyone who wants to grow as minister, or indeed to anyone who wants to take their discipleship further. Well worth the read!

Leave a comment

The writings of Revd Tim Buckley

Striving to tell a better story

The Vicar's Blog

A St Michael & St Barnabas website

The Covenant Renewal Blog

The thoughts of a vicar seeking a vision

Dazed and Confused

God Aspergers and life ... oh my

Thinking Aloud

Musings about the world around me and my place in it ...