A humbling read

I was given this book for my birthday a few weeks ago and since then I have read a few pages every night. It has been an invaluable and humbling experience. We are at the moment in the middle of our commemorations of the Great War. This book brings together the experience of a wide range of people who lived through the war, from an aristocratic socialite, to a country parson, to someone who used to work in a brush factory. Their own words are woven together with minimal commentary in a way that makes you realise afresh the impact of the war and the social changes those four dark years brought about. A compelling read, and one that I would thoroughly recommend.

Leave a comment

The writings of Revd Tim Buckley

Striving to tell a better story

The Vicar's Blog

A St Michael & St Barnabas website

The Covenant Renewal Blog

The thoughts of a vicar seeking a vision

Dazed and Confused

God Aspergers and life ... oh my

Thinking Aloud

Musings about the world around me and my place in it ...